UK Age Check Index

Why is this service asking me to verify my age?

Almost always because of the Online Safety Act 2023. Ofcom's children's safety duties require services likely to be accessed by under-18s, and any service carrying pornography, to use "highly effective age assurance" for the content they gate. Services began switching checks on through 2025 and 2026, which is why a site you have used for years can ask for a photo ID one day without warning.

Short answer. Of the 48 services tracked here, 9 require a check for the listed access, 26 gate some content or features, and 12 had no active verification prompt recorded, and 1 have an unconfirmed UK status. 6 of the checks in this index were first observed in 2026, and the dates we hold run from November 2022 to May 2026. 37 services publish what happens if you decline.

When each check appeared

Newest first, because the question is usually prompted by a check that has just turned up. The date is when the check was first observed for UK users, with the source on each service page.

ServiceStatusFirst observedWhat triggers itIf you decline
Tumblr
Social media
Partly gated May 2026 adult or mature content Mature content stays hidden.
PlayStation
Gaming
Gated April 2026 messaging and chat, specific features Those features stay off.
Apple devices (UK account age confirmation)
Device and app store
Partly gated

This limits certain features and safety-setting changes; it does not block use of the whole device.

25 March 2026 specific features You can keep using the device; affected safety settings and features remain restricted.
Hinge
Dating
Gated

Hinge’s page lists the UK as the region for the Face Check scan route and says an ID check may follow “for example, in the UK”. Face Check is rolling out “on a phased basis, where local regulations permit”.

5 February 2026 the whole service Hinge’s page: you cannot send likes or messages, and your profile is not visible to others, until you complete the age check; if an ID check is required, “you must complete it to access Hinge”. An account Hinge judges most likely under 18 is removed; an appeal needs an ID check.
Minecraft
Gaming
Partly gated

Minecraft’s page names Java Edition chat; it does not say whether Bedrock Edition chat or other multiplayer features are restricted.

February 2026 messaging and chat Microsoft: the account “will be treated as unverified”; Minecraft: Java Edition chat “may be restricted for unverified accounts”. Xbox Support: “Games and content you already own are not affected.”
Roblox
Gaming
Gated 7 January 2026 messaging and chat No chat.
Character.AI
AI chat
Gated

No Character.AI page read names the UK. Blog, 21 November 2025: the rollout began in the US “and that rollout will continue globally in the near future”. Help page (24 June 2026): “Age Assurance is being introduced step by step, so the pop-up might not show up for everyone right away.”

November 2025 the whole service, age estimated from account signals only You stay in the Under-18 experience. Character.AI: “Chat features will not be available, and your account will be in reading mode.” If an ID is requested, “Without a valid ID, the verification process cannot be completed and the account cannot move forward.” A Character.AI+ subscription does not override the age assurance process.
Twitch
Video and streaming
Partly gated 16 September 2025 adult or mature content Labelled streams stay blocked.
Steam
Gaming
Partly gated 29 August 2025 adult or mature content Mature pages stay hidden.
Telegram
Messaging
Partly gated 28 July 2025 adult or mature content Sensitive content stays off.
Xbox
Gaming
Partly gated

The original UK programme covered accounts declaring age 18+. Current Xbox guidance is regional; it does not establish that every restriction or method applies to every UK account.

28 July 2025 messaging and chat, specific features, age-restricted purchases The account stays unverified and some content or features may be restricted by region. Games and content already owned remain accessible and playable.
Grindr
Dating
Gated 25 July 2025 the whole service No access.
Tinder
Dating
Gated 25 July 2025 the whole service Tinder’s page: likes, messages and profile visibility are unavailable until the age check is completed; an ID check, if required, must be completed to access Tinder.
X (Twitter) and Grok
Social media
Partly gated 25 July 2025 adult or mature content Sensitive media stays hidden. X's page says an age decision can be challenged “by contacting X Support through the app or website”.
Pornhub, YouPorn, RedTube (Aylo)
Adult
Gated 24 July 2025 the whole service No access.
Reddit
Social media
Partly gated 14 July 2025 adult or mature content Mature communities stay hidden; the rest of Reddit works.
Bluesky
Social media
Partly gated 10 July 2025 adult or mature content, messaging and chat You keep browsing without adult content or DMs.
Discord
Messaging
Partly gated July 2025 adult or mature content, specific features Discord’s UK page: “The core Discord experience, messaging friends, joining voice calls or servers that are not age-restricted, works the same.” Blurred media, age-restricted spaces and some settings stay off.
Feeld
Dating
Gated

Applies by physical location or by a UK phone number: “If age verification is required based on the phone number associated with your account, you must verify, even if you leave that location”.

July 2025 the whole service Feeld’s article: new members cannot complete registration; existing members’ accounts stay banned until they verify, leave the area (if the requirement was by location only) or the account is terminated after a year of inactivity. “If you fail all of the above options, you will unfortunately not be able to use Feeld in that location.”
Spotify
Music
Partly gated July 2025 adult or mature content That content stays blocked; music plays normally.
OnlyFans
Adult
Gated 2025 the whole service No access.
YouTube
Video and streaming
Partly gated 2025 age estimated from account signals only, specific features Restrictions stay on.
Epic Games and Fortnite
Gaming
Partly gated

Epic describes the under-13 consent flow for players “around the world” and an 18+ check only “in Australia”, to comply with local regulations there. No Epic page read describes an 18+ check for UK players. Kids Web Services’ developer page lists the methods available in the UK: credit card (“KWS authorizes a £0.05 charge for users in the United Kingdom”), ID scan (“In the United Kingdom, users will also be required to take a selfie”) and face scan; debit-card verification is “Worldwide except in … the United Kingdom”.

7 December 2022 creating an account, specific features Epic’s Cabined Accounts FAQ: players “will still be able to play Fortnite, Rocket League, or Fall Guys with full access to previously purchased or earned content in-game, but won’t be able to access certain content or features until their parent or guardian provides consent”, or until they reach 13 or the age of digital consent in their region.
Instagram
Social media
Partly gated

Instagram’s pages say the video-selfie route “is only available in some countries” and do not list them. Meta’s 5 May 2026 post says its AI teen-placement technology launched on Instagram in the UK; its visual analysis is “currently available in select countries”.

November 2022 specific features, age estimated from account signals only The birthday change does not go through. Instagram’s pages: an account under review for being under 13 “will be removed” unless an appeal with a valid ID succeeds; Meta’s May 2026 post: a suspected-underage account is deactivated and the holder must “provide proof of age through our age verification process to prevent their account from being deleted.”
4chan
Forum
No check

Ofcom’s confirmation decision of 19 March 2026 required 4chan “to implement highly effective age assurance on 4chan.org by 2 April 2026” with “an additional daily rate penalty of £500 per day … until the date section 12 is complied with, or (if sooner) by 1 June 2026”. Ofcom’s June 2026 industry bulletin: 4chan fined “a total of £540,000 … (with daily penalties of up to £800 until compliance deadlines are met). Further enforcement action may follow should non-compliance continue.” No Ofcom page read after June 2026 records whether 4chan has since introduced a check.

not stated nothing not published
Amazon Prime Video
Video and streaming
No check

Ofcom’s consultation on a Tier 1 Standards Code (published 14 May 2026, status “Pending Statement (Closed)”): Part 4 of the Media Act 2024 creates “a new regime for services called ‘Tier 1 Services’. These will be the most watched video on-demand services that meet a threshold of viewership set by Government”, with proposed rules including “protecting the under-eighteens”. The page does not name services.

not stated nothing not published
Bumble
Dating
Partly gated

Bumble’s pages do not name the UK among the countries where it is “legally required to verify that members are 18+”. Its privacy policy lists, “For members based in countries where age verification is legally required”, a photo of a government-issued ID plus geolocation and device information at the time of upload.

not stated age estimated from account signals only Bumble’s terms: “if you don’t complete a verification request, you may be unable to register an Account or you may lose access to the Bumble services.”
ChatGPT (OpenAI)
AI chat
Unknown

UK rollout and requirement are not confirmed by the recorded source.

not stated age estimated from account signals only, specific features OpenAI’s page: “Age prediction does not require you to verify your age to keep using ChatGPT with teen protections.” The account stays active and the teen limits stay on.
Crunchyroll
Video and streaming
No check

Crunchyroll’s only age-verification page, “Why am I being asked to verify my age?” (15 September 2026), concerns South Korea alone: “Certain local regulations require users to complete age verification before creating a Crunchyroll account or accessing restricted (19+) content while in South Korea.” “Verification is performed through a third-party identity verification service (via SMS and PASS) and requires Korean identity credentials recognized by the Korean verification system.” No page read describes a check for the United Kingdom or any other country.

not stated nothing not published
Depop
Shopping and purchases
Partly gated

Account and payments checks, not an Online Safety Act content gate: no Depop page read mentions the Online Safety Act or Ofcom. The 18+ rule attaches to Depop Payments and PayPal, which sellers need; an account to browse and buy can be held from age 13.

not stated creating an account, specific features Depop’s pages do not say what happens if ID is refused; its 18+ rule applies to Depop Payments and PayPal, which are needed to list items for sale.
Disney+
Video and streaming
No check

Ofcom’s consultation on a Tier 1 Standards Code (published 14 May 2026, status “Pending Statement (Closed)”): Part 4 of the Media Act 2024 creates “a new regime for services called ‘Tier 1 Services’. These will be the most watched video on-demand services that meet a threshold of viewership set by Government”, with proposed rules including “protecting the under-eighteens”. The page does not name services.

not stated nothing not published
EA (Electronic Arts)
Gaming
Partly gated

EA describes the 18+ check for Brazil (“Effective March 2026, Brazil’s ECA Digital Law requires verified age check for certain games … These requirements apply only to players in Brazil and only to affected games.”) and says an age check is required “in some countries” without listing them; no EA page read names the United Kingdom for an 18+ check. On EA’s table the UK minimum age for a player’s own account is 13; younger players get a child account that needs a parent’s confirmation.

not stated creating an account, specific features EA: “If you don’t confirm your age, you may not be able to: access games that feature random content mechanics (i.e., loot boxes); make purchases for those games; use voice or text chat, or other social features”. EA’s EA SPORTS FC page says a player can “continue to the game with the age-restricted features disabled” and return to the check from the Preferences menu.
eBay
Shopping and purchases
Partly gated

A retail purchase check, separate from an Online Safety Act content gate. It does not apply to every eBay purchase.

not stated age-restricted purchases The restricted purchase cannot complete until the required age check succeeds.
Facebook
Social media
Partly gated

Facebook’s UK-English Help Centre lists the video-selfie and ID routes without naming countries. Its Facebook Dating age-check page says “This feature is only available in some states.” and its phone-number age-verification page, read from the UK, says “This feature is not available in your location.”

not stated specific features, age estimated from account signals only The birthday change or the adult-only feature does not go through. Facebook’s page on under-age reports: “We will delete the account if we can't verify that the account is managed by someone who is old enough to use Facebook.”
Google Account and Google Search
Search
Partly gated

Google’s Account pages list no countries. YouTube’s age-estimation page says the model “is currently applied in several countries, including Australia, Brazil, Singapore, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United States and countries in the European Economic Area.” Google’s SafeSearch page: “SafeSearch settings and controls vary by country or territory in accordance with applicable local law.”

not stated age estimated from account signals only, specific features Google’s page: “If we can’t confirm you’re old enough, we’ll apply safer settings and content restrictions. You’ll get more control over these settings when you verify your age.” Each method screen offers “No thanks” to choose another method or stop.
Kick (streaming)
Video and streaming
Partly gated not stated adult or mature content Kick's FAQ points viewers who cannot complete an automatic check to support@kick.com for a manual age-assurance review.
Mumsnet
Forum
No check

Mumsnet’s stated position (staff reply of 31 July 2025) is that the Online Safety Act applies to it but the Child Safety Codes, including their age-check rules, do not, because it is not likely to be accessed by children. No Ofcom page read names Mumsnet.

not stated nothing not published
Netflix
Video and streaming
No check

Ofcom’s consultation on a Tier 1 Standards Code (published 14 May 2026, status “Pending Statement (Closed)”): Part 4 of the Media Act 2024 creates “a new regime for services called ‘Tier 1 Services’. These will be the most watched video on-demand services that meet a threshold of viewership set by Government”, with proposed rules including “protecting the under-eighteens”. The page does not name services.

not stated nothing not published
Nintendo
Gaming
No check not stated nothing not published
Pinterest
Social media
Partly gated

Pinterest’s help page is not country-specific. Its privacy policy (effective 30 April 2025) lists among its uses of information: “Conduct age verification, as appropriate. This may include facial age estimation and matching your face against a government ID.”

not stated specific features Pinterest’s page: “You can continue using Pinterest without verifying your age, but you won’t have access to certain features based on our teen safety settings.” An account deactivated for age reasons stays deactivated unless the appeal succeeds; “all appeals must be made using this link.”
Replika
AI chat
No check

No Replika page read names the United Kingdom or the Online Safety Act. Italy’s data protection authority (decision of 10 April 2025, reported by the European Data Protection Board) found that until 2 February 2023 Luka “had not implemented any age verification mechanisms—either at registration or during use of the service” and that “the age verification system currently implemented by the controller continues to be deficient in several respects”.

not stated age estimated from account signals only Replika’s Privacy Policy: if it discovers an under-18 using the apps, “we will promptly block their access and delete their account.”
Riot Games
Gaming
Partly gated

Riot’s pages say the regions and ages vary and name only Brazil (under its ECA Digital Act, Riot says, minors cannot play games rated 18+ even with parental consent) and the US (optional, “except for Louisiana”); no Riot page read names the United Kingdom. The en-gb address of the Age Verification article returns 404; the en-us article, which the Wild Rift support site repeats word for word, was read.

not stated creating an account Riot: “Your account will remain frozen until you turn 18, at which point you will no longer need consent but will still have to verify your own age.” and “all of your items, cosmetics, progress, etc. will be preserved until you either receive consent from your parents or come of age.” In the US, Riot says, the process is optional.
Snapchat
Social media
No check not stated age estimated from account signals only not published
Threads
Social media
Partly gated

Threads’ video-selfie page: “This feature is only available in some countries.” No Threads page read names the UK.

not stated specific features, age estimated from account signals only The birthday change does not go through and any age restrictions stay. Threads’ page: “In some regions, you may be required to confirm your age to continue using your account.” Meta’s report page says an account found to be under the minimum age is deleted.
TikTok
Social media
No check not stated age estimated from account signals only not published
Vinted
Shopping and purchases
Partly gated

An account-eligibility check run by Vinted’s Customer Support, not an Online Safety Act content gate: no Vinted page read mentions the Online Safety Act or Ofcom. Vinted’s page does not say what prompts the request, so it is recorded as applying to accounts Vinted asks.

not stated the whole service Vinted’s page: “We may have to ban your account if you can’t verify your age (as stated in our Terms and Conditions).”
WhatsApp
Messaging
No check not stated nothing not published
Wikipedia
Other
No check not stated nothing not published

Why it arrived all at once

Ofcom's duties came with dated deadlines rather than a single switch-on, so services clustered their changes around them. The timeline lists every dated step, including the ones still ahead, each with its source. Where Ofcom or the ICO has opened an investigation or issued a fine, it is on the enforcement page with the amount and the date.

Why the check differs from app to app

The Act sets the duty, not the method. Each service chooses how to meet it — a selfie estimate, a photo ID, a credit card, a mobile-network check, an emailed digital ID, or an inference drawn from account signals — and most use more than one. What each method collects, and what Ofcom has said about it, is on the methods pages.

If you would rather not

The "if you decline" column above is the service's own published statement of what you lose, quoted on its service page with a source. For most partly-gated services it means the gated content stays hidden and the rest keeps working. This site does not carry advice about avoiding checks, and it never will: it records what the services and regulators publish, nothing more.

Related: what happens to your ID once you have handed it over and what the check actually looks like on each service.

This directory publishes information about companies, not individuals. It does not process personal data of people who verify their age.

For retail purchases: eBay’s separate age-check routes and credit-card verification versus payment.