What happens to your ID when you verify your age?
When a UK service asks for a photo ID or a selfie, the check is usually run by a third-party vendor rather than the service itself. What that vendor says it keeps, and for how long, is published in some cases and simply not published in others. This page quotes what exists and states plainly where nothing does.
Short answer. Across 23 services there are 52 separate check routes in this index. 24 of them have retention wording we could quote from a published source; 28 have none. Of the 10 vendors, 2 state that images are deleted after the check. Where the holder is named, the vendor holds the data on 13 routes and the service itself on 7; on 31 routes it is not stated who holds it.
What each vendor publishes
Ordered by how many services in the index use them. A quote is the vendor's own wording, not a summary of it.
| Vendor | Used by | Its own retention wording | Images | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| k-ID SG |
4 services |
k-ID does NOT store the information that you provide to prove your age. All we store is the result of the verification process. k-id.com checked 7 September 2026 Stated period: On-device facial estimation; images never uploaded |
Does not say | 7 September 2026 |
| Yoti GB |
4 services |
Images are not stored, shared, re-used or sold on. Images are immediately and permanently deleted… we do not use them for our own learning or training purposes. yoti.com checked 6 September 2026 Stated period: immediately (age estimation); Yoti app account data used for training with consent, deleted after 3 years of inactivity |
Does not say | 6 September 2026 |
| Persona US |
3 services |
Persona deletes all of your personal information including any images within 3 days. help.withpersona.com checked 6 September 2026 Stated period: Deployer-configured: 3 days (Reddit FAQ, 2026), 7 days (Reddit press, Jul 2025), 30 days (Roblox), up to 3 years ceiling in Persona privacy policy (secondary) |
Says images are deleted after the check | 6 September 2026 |
| Apple (device-level age check and Declared Age Range API) US |
2 services |
Your credit card or ID document aren't stored unless you choose to save them biometricupdate.com checked 6 September 2026 Stated period: not stated |
Does not say | 6 September 2026 |
| Epic Kids Web Services GB |
1 service |
stores verified status with your hashed email address; retains for as long as necessary to fulfil the purposes kidswebservices.com checked 6 September 2026 Stated period: Delegated to method vendor (Yoti face, Veriff ID, Stripe card) |
Does not say | 6 September 2026 |
| Google (age inference and Google Account verification) US |
1 service |
ID deleted after your date of birth is successfully verified; selfie then deleted; card data retained as necessary to meet legal and regulatory requirements support.google.com checked 6 September 2026 Stated period: ID and selfie deleted after verification; card data retained for legal requirements |
Says images are deleted after the check | 6 September 2026 |
| Ondato LT |
1 service |
deletes biometric data instantly. Only the result — old enough or not old enough — remains ondato.com checked 6 September 2026 Stated period: instantly (OnAge) |
Does not say | 6 September 2026 |
| VerifyMy GB |
1 service |
delete your personal data immediately as soon as the Check is complete verifymy.io checked 6 September 2026 Stated period: immediately (email-based estimation for Google) |
Does not say | 6 September 2026 |
| OneID GB |
0 services |
No long-term personal data retention oneid.uk checked 6 September 2026 Stated period: not stated |
Does not say | 6 September 2026 |
| Veratad US |
0 services |
No retention statement found on the age-verification product page (checked 6 Sep 2026). veratad.com checked 6 September 2026 |
Does not say | 6 September 2026 |
Routes where no retention period is published
28 of the 52 check routes in the index have no published retention wording that we could find and quote. That is not a claim that nothing is deleted — it is a statement that the service and the vendor have not said, as at the date shown.
| Service | Route | Vendor named | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apple devices (iOS 26.4 UK age check) | Credit card | Apple | 6 September 2026 |
| Apple devices (iOS 26.4 UK age check) | Photo ID | Apple | 6 September 2026 |
| Bluesky | Credit card | Epic Kids Web Services | 6 September 2026 |
| Bluesky | Photo ID | Epic Kids Web Services | 6 September 2026 |
| Bluesky | Facial age estimation (face scan) | Epic Kids Web Services (Yoti) | 6 September 2026 |
| ChatGPT (OpenAI) | In-house age inference | none named | 7 September 2026 |
| Grindr | Photo ID | Grindr in-house | 6 September 2026 |
| OnlyFans | Photo ID | Ondato | 6 September 2026 |
| OnlyFans | Facial age estimation (face scan) | Yoti (reported) | 6 September 2026 |
| PlayStation | Mobile operator check | Yoti | 6 September 2026 |
| PlayStation | Photo ID | Yoti | 6 September 2026 |
| Pornhub, YouPorn, RedTube (Aylo) | Credit card | Aylo | 6 September 2026 |
| Pornhub, YouPorn, RedTube (Aylo) | Mobile operator check | Aylo | 6 September 2026 |
| Pornhub, YouPorn, RedTube (Aylo) | Open banking | Aylo | 6 September 2026 |
| Pornhub, YouPorn, RedTube (Aylo) | Other method | Apple device check (iOS only) | 6 September 2026 |
| Roblox | Photo ID | Persona | 6 September 2026 |
| Spotify | Photo ID | Yoti | 6 September 2026 |
| Steam | Credit card | Valve (in-house) | 6 September 2026 |
| Telegram | Facial age estimation (face scan) | Telegram in-house (official bot) | 6 September 2026 |
| Tinder and Hinge (Match Group) | Facial age estimation (face scan) | Match Group in-house; FaceTec liveness | 6 September 2026 |
| Tumblr | Open banking | k-ID (ConnectID) | 6 September 2026 |
| X (Twitter) and Grok | Facial age estimation (face scan) | none named | 7 September 2026 |
| X (Twitter) and Grok | Photo ID | none named | 7 September 2026 |
| X (Twitter) and Grok | Email-based estimation | not named | 7 September 2026 |
| X (Twitter) and Grok | In-house age inference | none named | 7 September 2026 |
| Xbox | Facial age estimation (face scan) | Yoti | 6 September 2026 |
| Xbox | Mobile operator check | Yoti | 6 September 2026 |
| Xbox | Credit card | Yoti | 6 September 2026 |
Why the same vendor can keep data for different lengths of time
Most vendors let the service that deploys them configure retention, so one company's published figure can differ from another's for the identical product. Where we hold both the vendor's own wording and a deploying service's wording, both appear: the vendor page carries the vendor default, and each service page carries what that service publishes. Where the two disagree, the disagreement is shown rather than resolved.
What this page is not
It is not a safety rating, and there are deliberately no scores here. A published retention period is evidence of a published retention period — not proof of what happens to a file in practice. It is also not legal advice. What it does give you is the actual wording, the source it came from and the date someone last read it, so you can check it yourself.
Per-service detail is on each index row; per-vendor detail, including certifications, accuracy claims and any regulator actions or reported incidents, is on the vendor pages. Related: why services started asking and what the check looks like on each service.
This directory publishes information about companies, not individuals. It does not process personal data of people who verify their age.