ChatGPT (OpenAI): age checks in the UK
Age prediction from account signals; adults placed in the ChatGPT for Teens experience by mistake can verify with a Persona selfie or ID. OpenAI’s help page names only Italy by country; a UK date is not stated. EU rollout January and August 2026 per press.
Not established AI chat OpenAI verified 18 October 2026
Facts panel
Published statements are shown with their sources and the dates we checked them. Missing information and availability limits remain explicit.
- Domain
- chatgpt.com
- Age check
UK rollout and requirement are not confirmed by the recorded source.
Not established- Triggered by
- age estimated from account signals only; specific features
- Applies to
- accounts the service flags
- Notes
- OpenAI’s help page (read 18 October 2026) is written for all users and names only Italy by country, where “Persona may ask for a live selfie, a government-issued ID, or both.” It states no UK-specific date or requirement and says “Not every account has a Verify age option.”
- Methods
- Face scanPhoto IDInference
- Vendor
- Persona; Other recorded providers for inference
- Overall record checked
- 18 October 2026. Individual methods may have later checks, shown below.
Methods and retention, one row per method
| Method | Provider | Retention, as published | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Facial age estimation (face scan) | Persona |
“Persona handles age verification and deletes your uploaded ID or selfie within 7 days after verification.” Quoted from help.openai.com, dated 14 October 2026; checked 18 October 2026. Held by the vendor. Period as stated: 7 days after verification. Notes: Live selfie taken with a phone or webcam. OpenAI's page: “OpenAI does not receive your ID or selfie. OpenAI only receives your date of birth or an age prediction.” |
help.openai.com, dated 14 October 2026 Primary source · checked 18 October 2026 |
| Photo ID | Persona |
“Persona handles age verification and deletes your uploaded ID or selfie within 7 days after verification.” Quoted from help.openai.com, dated 14 October 2026; checked 18 October 2026. Held by the vendor. Period as stated: 7 days after verification. Notes: Government ID upload; Persona checks the date of birth and that the selfie matches the ID photo. OpenAI's page says ID numbers may be covered before uploading. |
help.openai.com, dated 14 October 2026 Primary source · checked 18 October 2026 |
| In-house age inference | Provider not identified |
No published retention period found (checked 18 October 2026). Notes: The age-prediction system itself. OpenAI's page: it “looks at different signals linked to your account. For example, it may look at general topics you talk about, the times of day you use ChatGPT, how and when your account is used, and how long your account has existed.” Verifying with Persona stops age prediction running on the account. |
help.openai.com, dated 14 October 2026 Primary source · checked 18 October 2026 |
What you will see
- What happens
- If ChatGPT predicts an account may belong to someone under 18 it switches on the ChatGPT for Teens experience, which limits sensitive content and some features. An adult placed there by mistake can verify with Persona to have the protections removed.
- How long it takes
- OpenAI says removing teen protections after verification “may take a short time to fully apply”.
- If you decline
- OpenAI’s page: “Age prediction does not require you to verify your age to keep using ChatGPT with teen protections.” The account stays active and the teen limits stay on.
- Official help page
- help.openai.com
Questions people ask about ChatGPT
Does ChatGPT require age verification in the UK?
Not established as of 18 October 2026. OpenAI’s help page (read 18 October 2026) is written for all users and names only Italy by country, where “Persona may ask for a live selfie, a government-issued ID, or both.” It states no UK-specific date or requirement and says “Not every account has a Verify age option.” UK rollout and requirement are not confirmed by the recorded source.
Is the ChatGPT age check a face scan?
A face scan (facial age estimation) is one of 3 recorded methods: Facial age estimation (face scan), Photo ID and In-house age inference. Provider named: Persona. Which methods a service offers can change; the date each was checked is shown on the page. UK rollout and requirement are not confirmed by the recorded source.
What does ChatGPT keep after the age check?
Facial age estimation (face scan) via Persona: "Persona handles age verification and deletes your uploaded ID or selfie within 7 days after verification." (help.openai.com, dated 14 October 2026; checked 18 October 2026). Photo ID via Persona: "Persona handles age verification and deletes your uploaded ID or selfie within 7 days after verification." (help.openai.com, dated 14 October 2026; checked 18 October 2026). In-house age inference via the service: No published retention period found (checked 18 October 2026). UK rollout and requirement are not confirmed by the recorded source.
What if the ChatGPT age check is not working?
This site records what the service publishes; it does not troubleshoot or offer workarounds. ChatGPT's own help page is https://help.openai.com/en/articles/12652064-age-prediction-in-chatgpt. The record lists 3 methods; availability depends on the service and account: Facial age estimation (face scan), Photo ID and In-house age inference. If you do not complete the check, the service states: OpenAI’s page: “Age prediction does not require you to verify your age to keep using ChatGPT with teen protections.” The account stays active and the teen limits stay on. UK rollout and requirement are not confirmed by the recorded source.
Regulator actions
No Ofcom or ICO action naming this service is recorded as of 18 October 2026.
Sources for this entry
- Age prediction in ChatGPT — OpenAI help centre service policy 14 October 2026
- Silicon Republic press 2026
Changes to this record
- — methods.source_date, gate.notes, summary, user_facing, open_questions: Help page re-read 18 October 2026 (updated about 14 October). Persona 7-day deletion wording unchanged. The page no longer states a 60-day Italian deadline and now says Persona may ask Italian users for a selfie, an ID or both; decline wording is now “Age prediction does not require you to verify your age to keep using ChatGPT with teen protections.” UK status still not stated, so gate status stays unknown. (was: Page dated about 30 August 2026; gate note said Italy had a 60-day deadline; decline wording “You do not need to verify your age to keep using ChatGPT with teen protections.”) manual
- — gate: Aligned UK status with the existing source caveat. Removed the non-UK-specific January date from the UK first-observed field. No source was newly verified. manual
- — methods: help page read in a browser (previously 403): the seven-day Persona deletion figure is now quoted from OpenAI's own page rather than press; age-prediction inference added as a method; UK rollout still not stated by OpenAI manual
- — seed: record created from research/01 and research/02 seed
Correct this entry
If ChatGPT's own page says something different, that page wins and we want to know. Send a correction with the URL. Corrections are answered within a week and logged above with their source. Nothing you send is published.