Snapchat: age checks in the UK
No active age check for UK users; in-house inference and teen protections only. Named in Ofcom’s letters of 12 March 2026 and in the under-16 ban.
No active verification prompt recorded Social media Snap Inc. verified 18 October 2026
Facts panel
Published statements are shown with their sources and the dates we checked them. Missing information and availability limits remain explicit.
- Domain
- snapchat.com
- Age check
- No active verification prompt recorded
- Triggered by
- age estimated from account signals only
- Applies to
- all UK users
- Methods
- Inference only
- Vendor
- none
- Overall record checked
- 18 October 2026. Individual methods may have later checks, shown below.
What you will see
- What happens
- No prompt.
- How long it takes
- Not stated by the service.
- If you decline
- Not stated by the service.
- Official help page
- help.snapchat.com
Questions people ask about Snapchat
Does Snapchat require age verification in the UK?
No active age check was found as of 18 October 2026. Snapchat estimates age from account signals rather than asking for a check.
Is the Snapchat age check a face scan?
No face-scan method is recorded. The service relies on age inference from account signals.
What does Snapchat keep after the age check?
No active verification method is recorded for Snapchat. This does not establish that the service collects no age-related data; account-based inference may involve existing information.
What if the Snapchat age check is not working?
This site records what the service publishes; it does not troubleshoot or offer workarounds. Snapchat's own help page is https://help.snapchat.com/hc/en-us/articles/43913055986836.
Has a regulator taken action over Snapchat's age checks?
Ofcom, 12 March 2026: Ofcom letter of 12 March 2026 to Facebook, Instagram, Roblox, Snapchat, TikTok and YouTube: enforce minimum ages with highly effective age assurance and report back by 30 April 2026.
Regulator actions
- — Ofcom: Statement or letter. Ofcom letter of 12 March 2026 to Facebook, Instagram, Roblox, Snapchat, TikTok and YouTube: enforce minimum ages with highly effective age assurance and report back by 30 April 2026. ofcom.org.uk
Sources for this entry
- Snap OSA FAQ service help
Changes to this record
- — last_verified, enforcement.source_url: Snap’s UK Online Safety Act FAQ re-read 18 October 2026: still no age-verification wording. The 12 March 2026 letter is now cited to Ofcom’s own page (the earlier secondary link returns 404). manual
- — seed: record created from research/01 and research/02 seed
Correct this entry
If Snapchat's own page says something different, that page wins and we want to know. Send a correction with the URL. Corrections are answered within a week and logged above with their source. Nothing you send is published.