TikTok: age checks in the UK
No active age gate for UK users; relies on in-house age inference. Ofcom opened a section 12 investigation into that system on 16 July 2026.
No active verification prompt recorded Social media TikTok Information Technologies UK Ltd verified 18 October 2026
Facts panel
Published statements are shown with their sources and the dates we checked them. Missing information and availability limits remain explicit.
- Domain
- tiktok.com
- Age check
- No active verification prompt recorded
- Triggered by
- age estimated from account signals only
- Applies to
- all UK users
- Notes
- Ofcom's July 2026 report says passive inference must be replaced or supplemented "without delay".
- Methods
- Inference only
- Vendor
- none
- Overall record checked
- 18 October 2026. Individual methods may have later checks, shown below.
What you will see
- What happens
- No prompt. TikTok estimates age from account behaviour.
- How long it takes
- Not stated by the service.
- If you decline
- Not stated by the service.
- Official help page
- none recorded
Questions people ask about TikTok
Does TikTok require age verification in the UK?
No active age check was found as of 18 October 2026. TikTok estimates age from account signals rather than asking for a check. Ofcom's July 2026 report says passive inference must be replaced or supplemented "without delay".
Is the TikTok age check a face scan?
No face-scan method is recorded. The service relies on age inference from account signals.
What does TikTok keep after the age check?
No active verification method is recorded for TikTok. This does not establish that the service collects no age-related data; account-based inference may involve existing information.
What if the TikTok age check is not working?
This site records what the service publishes; it does not troubleshoot or offer workarounds. No official help page for the check is recorded for TikTok.
Has a regulator taken action over TikTok's age checks?
Ofcom, 16 July 2026: Section 12 investigation into compliance with duties to protect children, focused on the age-inference system. Ofcom’s page: case opened 16 July 2026; “We will provide an update on this investigation in October 2026.” Status Open as of 18 October 2026. Ofcom, 12 March 2026: Ofcom letter of 12 March 2026 to Facebook, Instagram, Roblox, Snapchat, TikTok and YouTube: enforce minimum ages with highly effective age assurance and report back by 30 April 2026.
Regulator actions
- — Ofcom: Investigation opened. Section 12 investigation into compliance with duties to protect children, focused on the age-inference system. Ofcom’s page: case opened 16 July 2026; “We will provide an update on this investigation in October 2026.” Status Open as of 18 October 2026. ofcom.org.uk
- — Ofcom: Statement or letter. Ofcom letter of 12 March 2026 to Facebook, Instagram, Roblox, Snapchat, TikTok and YouTube: enforce minimum ages with highly effective age assurance and report back by 30 April 2026. ofcom.org.uk
Sources for this entry
- Ofcom investigation ofcom 16 July 2026
Changes to this record
- — open_questions, enforcement: Ofcom’s investigation page re-read 18 October 2026: it states the case opened 16 July 2026 and remains Open, with an update promised in October 2026 (not published as of 18 October). The 12 March 2026 letter is now cited to Ofcom’s own page. (was: Investigation opening date confirmed only via secondary reporting) manual
- — seed: record created from research/01 and research/02 seed
Correct this entry
If TikTok's own page says something different, that page wins and we want to know. Send a correction with the URL. Corrections are answered within a week and logged above with their source. Nothing you send is published.