Roblox: age checks in the UK
Age check required globally to use chat since 7 January 2026, via Persona facial estimation or ID.
Check required for listed access Gaming Roblox Corporation verified 18 October 2026
Facts panel
Published statements are shown with their sources and the dates we checked them. Missing information and availability limits remain explicit.
- Domain
- roblox.com
- Age check
- Check required for listed access, first recorded 7 January 2026
- Triggered by
- messaging and chat
- Applies to
- all UK users
- Methods
- Face scanPhoto ID
- Vendor
- Persona
- Overall record checked
- 18 October 2026. Individual methods may have later checks, shown below.
Methods and retention, one row per method
| Method | Provider | Retention, as published | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Facial age estimation (face scan) | Persona |
“Images and video used for Facial Age Estimation are deleted immediately after they’ve been securely processed.” Quoted from about.roblox.com, dated 7 January 2026; checked 18 October 2026. Held by not stated. Period as stated: Images and video: immediately after secure processing. |
about.roblox.com, dated 7 January 2026 Primary source · checked 18 October 2026 |
| Photo ID | Persona |
“Our service provider, Persona, will respectively delete your Biometric Data within 30 days after collection, unless required by law (such as a warrant or subpoena) to keep your Biometric Data for a longer period.” Quoted from en.help.roblox.com, dated 13 October 2025; checked 18 October 2026. Held by the vendor. Period as stated: Biometric data from ID and selfie: within 30 days after collection. Notes: Roblox’s Biometric and Facial Media Data Privacy Notice (effective 13 October 2025): “For identity verification, Persona captures a photo of your ID and a selfie.” and “Roblox may access the photo of your ID and selfie stored by Persona for training, product improvement, and compliance purposes. Roblox will not have access to the face geometry processed by Persona.” The 30-day period applies to biometric data from this ID route; facial age estimation images and video are covered by the newsroom statement on the row above. |
about.roblox.com, dated 7 January 2026 Primary source · checked 18 October 2026 |
What you will see
- What happens
- Chat is unavailable until an age check is completed.
- How long it takes
- Not stated by the service.
- If you decline
- No chat.
- Official help page
- en.help.roblox.com
Questions people ask about Roblox
Does Roblox require age verification in the UK?
Yes. As of 18 October 2026, Roblox requires an age check for messaging and chat, applying to all UK users. First recorded 7 January 2026.
Is the Roblox age check a face scan?
A face scan (facial age estimation) is one of 2 recorded methods: Facial age estimation (face scan) and Photo ID. Provider named: Persona. Which methods a service offers can change; the date each was checked is shown on the page.
What does Roblox keep after the age check?
Facial age estimation (face scan) via Persona: "Images and video used for Facial Age Estimation are deleted immediately after they’ve been securely processed." (about.roblox.com, dated 7 January 2026; checked 18 October 2026). Photo ID via Persona: "Our service provider, Persona, will respectively delete your Biometric Data within 30 days after collection, unless required by law (such as a warrant or subpoena) to keep your Biometric Data for a longer period." (en.help.roblox.com, dated 13 October 2025; checked 18 October 2026).
What if the Roblox age check is not working?
This site records what the service publishes; it does not troubleshoot or offer workarounds. Roblox's own help page is https://en.help.roblox.com/hc/en-us/articles/42152315498516. The record lists 2 methods; availability depends on the service and account: Facial age estimation (face scan) and Photo ID. If you do not complete the check, the service states: No chat.
Has a regulator taken action over Roblox's age checks?
Ofcom, 12 March 2026: Ofcom letter of 12 March 2026 to Facebook, Instagram, Roblox, Snapchat, TikTok and YouTube: enforce minimum ages with highly effective age assurance and report back by 30 April 2026.
Regulator actions
- — Ofcom: Statement or letter. Ofcom letter of 12 March 2026 to Facebook, Instagram, Roblox, Snapchat, TikTok and YouTube: enforce minimum ages with highly effective age assurance and report back by 30 April 2026. ofcom.org.uk
Sources for this entry
- Roblox newsroom service policy 7 January 2026
- Roblox Biometric and Facial Media Data Privacy Notice service policy 13 October 2025
Changes to this record
- — methods[photo_id].retention, open_questions, enforcement.source_url: Roblox’s own biometric privacy notice read 18 October 2026: the 30-day period is Persona’s deletion of biometric data from the ID-plus-selfie identity check, separate from the immediate deletion of facial age estimation images and video stated in the newsroom post (re-read, unchanged). Enforcement letter now cited to Ofcom’s own page. (was: Verify the separate reported biometric-data retention period against the current help policy. It must not be treated as a contradiction of the image/video deletion statement without checking data type, scope and exceptions.) manual
- — methods.retention: Re-read the newsroom source. Limited the retention period to images and video, removed the unsupported holder classification, and moved the separate reported biometric-data period to the review queue. manual
- — seed: record created from research/01 and research/02 seed
Correct this entry
If Roblox's own page says something different, that page wins and we want to know. Send a correction with the URL. Corrections are answered within a week and logged above with their source. Nothing you send is published.