UK Age Check Index

Amazon Prime Video: age checks in the UK

No age check found on Amazon’s UK Prime Video help pages as of 18 October 2026: under-18s use the service “only with involvement of a parent or guardian”; parents set an Account PIN and viewing or purchase restrictions. No published retention period found (checked 18 October 2026).

No active verification prompt recorded Video and streaming Amazon Digital UK Limited or Amazon.com Services LLC, depending on location (Prime Video Terms of Use) verified 18 October 2026

Facts panel

Published statements are shown with their sources and the dates we checked them. Missing information and availability limits remain explicit.

Domain
primevideo.com
Age check

Ofcom’s consultation on a Tier 1 Standards Code (published 14 May 2026, status “Pending Statement (Closed)”): Part 4 of the Media Act 2024 creates “a new regime for services called ‘Tier 1 Services’. These will be the most watched video on-demand services that meet a threshold of viewership set by Government”, with proposed rules including “protecting the under-eighteens”. The page does not name services.

No active verification prompt recorded
Triggered by
nothing
Applies to
not stated
Notes
Prime Video Terms of Use (Last Updated August 26, 2026, read 18 October 2026): “If you are under 18 years of age, or the age of majority in your location, you may use the Service only with involvement of a parent or guardian.” Amazon’s UK “Parental Controls on Prime Video” page: “Prime Video parental controls allow you to set restrictions for video content that can be viewed or purchased on your account.” The controls work by requiring the Account PIN before a purchase or before viewing restricted content. “Maturity Ratings” page, United Kingdom: Kids (All), Older Kids (7+), Teens (13+), Young Adults (16+), Adults (18+), mapped to the BBFC ratings U, PG, 12, 15 and 18. “Set up Restrictions on Prime Video on Web”: “Select an age restriction and the devices you want them to apply to, then click Save.” and “Viewing restrictions only apply to the device that set them up. Purchase restrictions apply to all profiles on your account.” “Set up a Prime Video PIN on iOS”: “Setting a Prime Video Account PIN allows you to set restrictions for profiles on your account.” and the PIN is set after entering the Amazon account password. None of the pages read describes a check of a viewer’s stated age, names an age-assurance provider or mentions the UK Online Safety Act or the Media Act 2024.
Methods
none recorded
Vendor
none
Overall record checked
18 October 2026. Individual methods may have later checks, shown below.

What you will see

What happens
No prompt. Amazon’s pages describe a Prime Video PIN set with the Amazon account password, viewing restrictions chosen by maturity rating per device, and purchase restrictions across the account; no step checks the viewer’s age.
How long it takes
Not stated by the service.
If you decline
Not stated by the service.
Official help page
amazon.co.uk

Questions people ask about Amazon Prime Video

Does Amazon Prime Video require age verification in the UK?

No active age check was found as of 18 October 2026. Prime Video Terms of Use (Last Updated August 26, 2026, read 18 October 2026): “If you are under 18 years of age, or the age of majority in your location, you may use the Service only with involvement of a parent or guardian.” Amazon’s UK “Parental Controls on Prime Video” page: “Prime Video parental controls allow you to set restrictions for video content that can be viewed or purchased on your account.” The controls work by requiring the Account PIN before a purchase or before viewing restricted content. “Maturity Ratings” page, United Kingdom: Kids (All), Older Kids (7+), Teens (13+), Young Adults (16+), Adults (18+), mapped to the BBFC ratings U, PG, 12, 15 and 18. “Set up Restrictions on Prime Video on Web”: “Select an age restriction and the devices you want them to apply to, then click Save.” and “Viewing restrictions only apply to the device that set them up. Purchase restrictions apply to all profiles on your account.” “Set up a Prime Video PIN on iOS”: “Setting a Prime Video Account PIN allows you to set restrictions for profiles on your account.” and the PIN is set after entering the Amazon account password. None of the pages read describes a check of a viewer’s stated age, names an age-assurance provider or mentions the UK Online Safety Act or the Media Act 2024. Ofcom’s consultation on a Tier 1 Standards Code (published 14 May 2026, status “Pending Statement (Closed)”): Part 4 of the Media Act 2024 creates “a new regime for services called ‘Tier 1 Services’. These will be the most watched video on-demand services that meet a threshold of viewership set by Government”, with proposed rules including “protecting the under-eighteens”. The page does not name services.

Is the Amazon Prime Video age check a face scan?

No face-scan method is recorded. Ofcom’s consultation on a Tier 1 Standards Code (published 14 May 2026, status “Pending Statement (Closed)”): Part 4 of the Media Act 2024 creates “a new regime for services called ‘Tier 1 Services’. These will be the most watched video on-demand services that meet a threshold of viewership set by Government”, with proposed rules including “protecting the under-eighteens”. The page does not name services.

What does Amazon Prime Video keep after the age check?

No active verification method is recorded for Amazon Prime Video. This does not establish that the service collects no age-related data; account-based inference may involve existing information. Ofcom’s consultation on a Tier 1 Standards Code (published 14 May 2026, status “Pending Statement (Closed)”): Part 4 of the Media Act 2024 creates “a new regime for services called ‘Tier 1 Services’. These will be the most watched video on-demand services that meet a threshold of viewership set by Government”, with proposed rules including “protecting the under-eighteens”. The page does not name services.

What if the Amazon Prime Video age check is not working?

This site records what the service publishes; it does not troubleshoot or offer workarounds. Amazon Prime Video's own help page is https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=GYBCCNGWAJFEUVG3. Ofcom’s consultation on a Tier 1 Standards Code (published 14 May 2026, status “Pending Statement (Closed)”): Part 4 of the Media Act 2024 creates “a new regime for services called ‘Tier 1 Services’. These will be the most watched video on-demand services that meet a threshold of viewership set by Government”, with proposed rules including “protecting the under-eighteens”. The page does not name services.

Regulator actions

No Ofcom or ICO action naming this service is recorded as of 18 October 2026.

Full enforcement register · Regulatory timeline

Sources for this entry

Changes to this record

RSS feed for this record · All changes

Correct this entry

If Amazon Prime Video's own page says something different, that page wins and we want to know. Send a correction with the URL. Corrections are answered within a week and logged above with their source. Nothing you send is published.