UK Age Check Index

Apple (device-level age check and Declared Age Range API)

Apple Inc., headquartered in US. Website: apple.com. Methods offered: credit card, photo id, other method.

verified 6 September 2026

Retention, as published by Apple

“Your credit card or ID document aren't stored unless you choose to save them”

Quoted from biometricupdate.com, dated 25 March 2026; checked 6 September 2026. Period as stated: not stated.

Vendor default versus deployer configuration

The same vendor's retention is often stated differently by each service that deploys it. Both are shown, dated. Where the rows differ, the difference is the fact; this site does not decide which is right.

DeploymentMethodWhat the deployment statesWhat Apple states
Apple devices Credit card
Secondary source (press)

No published retention period found (checked 6 September 2026).

Notes: Credit only.

“Your credit card or ID document aren't stored unless you choose to save them”
Period as stated: not stated
checked 6 September 2026
Apple devices Photo ID
Secondary source (press)

No published retention period found (checked 6 September 2026).

Notes: Press quoting Apple: "Your credit card or ID document aren't stored unless you choose to save them".

“Your credit card or ID document aren't stored unless you choose to save them”
Period as stated: not stated
checked 6 September 2026
Pornhub, YouPorn, RedTube adult Other method
Secondary source (press)

No published retention period found (checked 6 September 2026).

Notes: iOS-only return, 5 May 2026

“Your credit card or ID document aren't stored unless you choose to save them”
Period as stated: not stated
checked 6 September 2026

Reported customers

Certifications

No certification recorded as of 6 September 2026.

The UK Age Check Certification Scheme (ACCS) registry lists certificates with their expiry dates; a certificate that has lapsed is recorded as such once the registry shows it.

Regulator actions and published incidents

Regulators

Incidents

Questions people ask about Apple

What does Apple say it keeps?

"Your credit card or ID document aren't stored unless you choose to save them" (biometricupdate.com, dated 25 March 2026; checked 6 September 2026). Period as stated: not stated. Deployers can configure a different period; the vendor page shows each deployment's own wording beside this.

Is Apple certified?

No certification is recorded for this vendor as of 6 September 2026.

Has Apple been fined or had a data incident?

Ofcom, March 2026: Ofcom welcomed the iOS 26.4 UK device-level check; AVPA disputes it meets highly-effective age assurance Incident, April 2026: Reddit age-check loop on iOS reported

Which UK services use Apple?

Recorded deployments: Apple devices (iOS 26.4 UK age check) and Pornhub, YouPorn, RedTube (Aylo).

Sources for this profile

Changes to this profile

Created 6 September 2026 from the research handover; no changes since.

All changes · RSS

Correct this entry

Vendors are welcome to correct their profile. Point us at the policy page and the wording is replaced with the quotation, dated. Send a correction. Nothing you send is published.